Tagged: karaoke

Sing Hero Trademarked

Activision, which publishes the popular Guitar Hero series, has filed a trademark for Sing Hero prompting speculation that the company might be preparing a dedicated karaoke game.

This falls in line with Activision’s plans to create “all new differentiated Guitar Hero products” in the second half of 2009. They have also promised a “major re-stage” of the franchise, which added mics and drums in its latest iteration.

It can also be noted that Activision plans to triple the amount of Guitar Hero releases by next year. Three more titles are due out by the end of June, including Guitar Hero: Metallica, Guitar Hero Greatest Hits and Guitar Hero On Tour: Modern Hits.

Singstar in America

Ever wanted to sing your way to stardom, but couldn’t due to the fact that you suck at singing? Well, SCEA is bringing over SCE London’s popular SingStar karaoke franchise for PS2 to North America this Fall, letting aspiring singers check out their skills without being mocked by strangers or neighbors.

As stated above, the game is set for release this Fall and will support up to 8 players. It will come bundled with two karaoke microphones and 30 songs; the game will also support the EyeToy camera, allowing players to insert their own images into music videos.

This Fall will be witness to thousands of bad singers across the States.

SingStar Anthems Announced

Even though a Singstar is announced for the PS3, SCEE today sent word of SingStar Anthems, a new music title for the PS2. Launching August 4, the sixth title in the series is a fusion of classic tunes and diva-esque anthems; it will feature over 170 tracks and will feature 20 original tracks and music videos. The game will support team contests and head-to-head sing-offs for those with like-minded friends.

Here’s the track listing:

  • Queen – Radio Ga Ga
  • Bonnie Tyler – Total Eclipse of the Heart
  • Take That feat. Lulu – Relight My Fire
  • Cher – If I Could Turn Back Time
  • Steps – Deeper Shade of Blue
  • Dead or Alive – You Spin Me Round (Like A Record)
  • Candi Station – Young Hearts Run Free
  • Gloria Gaynor – I Will Survive
  • Bananarama – I Heard A Rumour
  • Pussycat Dolls – Don’t Cha
  • Leann Rimes – Can’t Fight the Moonlight
  • Donner Summer – I Feel Love
  • Bucks Fizz – Making Your Mind Up
  • The Weather Girls – It’s Raining Men
  • Ultra – Nate Free
  • Scissor Sisters – Laura
  • Kim Wilde – Kids in America
  • Whitney Houston – I Wanna Dance With Somebody
  • Girl Aloud – Biology
  • Charlotte Church – Crazy Chick

The game will retail for £40 with microphones, £20 as stand alone.